The Mary Vaughan Jones Award 2018
Mon 17 September 2018 / / Written by Cyngor Llyfrau Cymru

The contribution of the late Gareth F. Williams to literature for children and young people will be celebrated with the 2018 Mary Vaughan Jones Award.


The Award – presented once every three years by the Welsh Books Council in memory of the author Mary Vaughan Jones, who died in 1983 – is presented to a person who has made a special contribution to the field of children’s literature in Wales over many years.


Gareth F. Williams is recognised as one of Wales’ most important authors of literature for children and young people.


Originally from Porthmadog, he received his early education at Ysgol Eifion Wyn and Ysgol Eifionydd, before studying at Bangor University and qualifying as a teacher at Wrexham where he taught Welsh at Ruabon School between 1979 and 1985.


He spent a period living at Beddau, near Pontypridd, before moving to Gileston, Vale of Glamorgan, in later years. He died in 2016 aged 61.

Gareth F. Williams wrote for stage and screen and was known for co-creating popular television series for S4C such as Pengelli and Rownd a Rownd.


But Gareth F. became best known as a gifted author who made his living by writing, and for the last fifty years he was responsible for over 20 titles for children, young people and adults.


He won the Tir na n-Og Award on six occasions, including 2015, when he scooped the double by also winning the Wales Book of the Year with the novel Awst yn Anogia.


“Gareth F. Williams’ contribution has been key to the development of children and young people’s literature in Wales,” said Helen Jones, Head of Children’s Literature and Reading Promotion at the Welsh Books Council. “We believe that the lasting effect of his legacy is immeasurable. Honouring Gareth F. with the Mary Vaughan Jones Award – the greatest accolade in children’s literature in Wales – is a recognition of his contribution and work over many years.”


The Award will be presented at a special event at Portmeirion on Thursday evening, 18 October 2018.


Since its inception in 1985, the Mary Vaughan Jones Award has been presented to Ifor Owen, Emily Huws, T. Llew Jones, W. J. Jones, Roger Boore, J. Selwyn Lloyd, Elfyn Pritchard, Mair Wynn Hughes, Angharad Tomos, Jac Jones and Siân Lewis.